New Week, New Foods, New Goals!

Time for some new recipes this week, but first: a new goal. Since I’ve hit my goal weight and am maintaining well without much trouble, it’s time to stay inspired. I’ve never wanted to be “thin,” I prefer being strong and fit. Being an appropriate weight is, for me, part of that; but, a lot of it is also performance based. I’m strong, overall,  but I wanted to up my core strength and so decided on a new routine.

I failed the Dragon Flags. A lot. So, this is my new goal: to be able to do a full Dragon Flag, and to work up from there. I’ll let you know how it goes!

So, new recipes!

Tabouleh Shwarma-spiced slow cooker chicken pitas, served with cauliflower tabouleh.  I followed this recipe, but I made my own shwarma spice mix (because I had all the stuff). Mostly, I’ll eat it over cauliflower rice, but also I’ll eat it in a sandwich with a 100 calorie pita. For the tabouleh, I made cauliflower rice in my food processor and cooked it for about 5 minutes on med-high heat with a bit of salt, then let it come to room temperature. In the meantime, I chopped up 1 bunch each of: mint (about a cup) and parsley (about 3 cups), and mixed in a diced cucumber and a pint of diced grape tomatoes. I tossed the parsley mixture with the cauliflower, then added a half cup lemon juice and 2 tbs olive oil, salt, and black pepper. Delicious.

Asian-inspired Ground Turkey Lettuce Wraps. Browned ground turkey & TVP re-hydrated with chicken broth (equal parts), cooked with shredded carrots, celery, diced mushrooms, diced bok choy, diced water chestnuts (crunch!), diced green onions, with a ginger-garlic marinade sauce (courtesy of Wegman’s organics isle) and a dash of red pepper flakes (because I like spicy). Served in green lettuce leaves.

Anda Masala over Cauliflower Rice. Okay, so this isn’t a new recipe, but our farm-fresh eggs have to sit for a while before using them for this (because otherwise peeling them is just awful), and they’re ready. If you have the calorie allowance, you can always use rice instead of cauliflower rice.

Snacks this week: veggies w/French Onion dip (made with Greek yogurt). Popcorn (with various spices), fruit, tuna salad (mustard, Sriracha, and lemon juice–I need the protein) over greens. Breakfast is pretty much always 2.5 eggs sided with fruit.

Do you have new goals to reach? Or, any new recipes you’ll be making?

 

Leave a Reply

