On the Menu, 2/7/17 Edition

This is the most complicated thing on the menu this week. Parchment baked fish (that’s 20170206_2016301the bit with the lemon over it), roasted mixed veggies, and my favorite cucumber vinegar salad. I love parchment baked fish. This recipe is a good basic starter, and I add and subtract things depending what I am going for. 20170206_2014431The one you see here has a bit of spicy  tomato sauce, Italian herbs, and lemon. The roasted veggies are green beans, eggplant, mushrooms, and Brussel sprouts tossed with some olive oil and Italian herbs.

So, with that, let’s get onto this week’s menu!

Batch Cooked For the Week:

Indian Inspired Crock-Pot Chicken. This is one of my favorite easy, healthful recipes. I double the spices, and I’ll be eating it over riced cauliflower instead of basmati.

Shrimp Fried Cauliflower Rice. I’ll be giving this recipe a whirl this week, but also adding shredded Brussel sprouts, broccoli, and green beans. I’ll also marinate the shrimp first for a few minutes in Chinese 5-spice, rice vinegar, hot chili oil, and teriyaki for extra flavor.

Veggie Protein Taco Bowl. I’ll be whipping up some Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP) with taco spices, salsa, and chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and serving it over mixed greens with shredded cheese, sliced olives, and a dollop of Greek yogurt instead of sour cream.

Lunches: 

Tuna and avocado salad (1 can albacore tuna, half a ripe avocado, lemon juice, pepper, sriracha sauce). Zucchini and Shiritaki noodles with Puttanesca sauce, with sardines.  Grandma’s Cucumber Vinegar salad, seen above on the plate with the fish (sliced cucumbers, tomatoes, sliced red onions, red wine or champagne vinegar, pepper, olive oil, water).

Snacks: Apples, oranges, grapes, blueberries, protein powder (with whatever beverage–coffee, almond-coconut milk, water, etc.–that is handy). Cauliflower hummus with veggies. Boiled eggs.

And, new this week: dessert-y things! I’ve decided to add a very occasional, no-added-sugar and low calorie dessert sometimes. It’s occasional because I’m not a huge fan of artificial sweeteners and the like, so want to keep it rare. The reality is that I am not sure I’ll stick with having these. While I hope they help with some of the feelings of deprivation (mostly of carbs in general, but of sweets specifically), I also know my willpower with those things can be challenging. Generally, I do better when I walk a hard line with my diet because if I eat something sweet, I’ll want the whole thing. If I eat the few bites of mac and cheese, I’ll eat the whole pan. So, I am trying some things that, if I do eat the whole thing, won’t completely derail things.

To that end, you’ll see some ingredients here that, if you’re a long-time reader, you won’t have really seen before. Bear with me while I see how this goes.

Apples w/caramel Spring Rolls. Diced apples tossed with Sugar-free Cool whip flavored with butterscotch sugar-free pudding mix.

Cherry Jell-o with Tart Cherries and chocolate “mousse.” Sugar free jell-o, with canned tart cherries in it’s own juices. Sugar-free Cool Whip flavored with chocolate sugar-free pudding mix, then frozen.

What is on your plate this week?

Leave a Reply

