On The Menu, 12/27/17 Edition

Those of you who have been reading for a while (and stuck with me for the times I don’t blog much) know that I do a ton of batch cooking. My life is busy, and if I don’t do it this way, I’ll eat like crap. So, today is prep day. All told, it took me about 2 hours. It’s generally closer to an hour, but some of the things I did today won’t be weekly (like roasting nuts and boiling eggs).

Dinners

Indian Chicken over Quinoa. I love this recipe because it’s stupid easy, takes zero time since it’s in the slowcooker(and the quinoa, pictured here, is done in the rice  cooker), is really healthful, and is full of flavor. I do tend to double the 20161227_134534spices she uses, since I like things spicy ( and also because, unlike her, I am not feeding kids so don’t have to worry about it). Also, I add some frozen spinach at the end, usually 2 cups or so (which so far everyone who has tried it loves). So, no need to make additional veggies as a side.

20161227_133030Salmon Sous Vide, with roasted broccoli. I love my sous vide machine. If you don’t have one, you can do roast the salmon, as well. It’s just salmon fillet, olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, lemon juice, and fresh rosemary. I’ll eat it cold later (amazing on salads!), but it’s fantastic as soon as it’s done, as well.
20161227_120411

Spicy Eggplant over Zewdles. This one was takes a few more steps, since you need to sweat the eggplant to give it a nice texture when roasted.  Essentially, clean the eggplant (remove top, bottom, and peel), lay on a cookie sheet, and sprinkle with salt. Allow it to sit for about 15 20161227_114226minutes, then turn over and sprinkle salt on the other side. 15 minutes later, rinse off salt and pat dry, then season eggplant. I used paprika, garlic, chili powder, onion powder, pepper, and rosemary. Baked it for 10 minutes  side and finished with a quick broil for some crispness. I’ll serve it over zucchini noodles (a.k.a. “zewdles”) with a pomodoro sauce (Wegman’s Organic).

Lunches

Some of my lunches will be leftovers from above. Some will be a selection from the things below.

Tuna and Avocado Sriracha Salad.  1 can tuna, half a ripe avocado (mashed), and sriracha, lemon, and pepper to taste. That’s it. I serve it over greens or quinoa, or just eat it off a fork.

Egg and Avocado Salad. Make egg salad,  but use mashed avocado. I like paprika in mine, and a bit of lemon and pepper. This gets served on lettuce leaves, like a sandwich.

Snacks

Boiled farm-fresh eggs, dark roasted almonds & walnuts, watermelon, oranges, grapes, 20161227_115722blueberries, celery and carrots with hummus or nut butter (no peanut butter for me, unfortunately), Krab sticks (I love fake crab–seriously, it’s an addiction), and pumpkin seeds.

I’ll also supplement some days with an almond/coconut milk  protein shake (if I am low on protein). My ideal ratio will be 40% carbs, 30% protein, 30% (healthy) fats.

So, that’s what’s on the table for this coming week. When I can, I’ll post what I’m eating daily here; but, if you’re interested in that kind of thing, you’re more likely to find it on my fitness Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

