It’s All About the Food: Healthful Eating.

For whatever reason, people tend to think that making healthful choices is always easy for me, but it’s not. I love chocolate, fat, salt, and good cocktails, beer, and wine.  I do get cravings, I do want the bad-for-me pizza, cheddar popcorn, and pork belly mac-and-cheese. But, the reality is I also know I feel much better in pretty much every way when I keep these things to a minimum.  For me, a big part of this is keeping the stuff I know isn’t great for me out of the house. Another big part is keeping healthier options really accessible. And, of course, probably the thing I go to the most is planning (which helps me with the previous two things). I process the fruit and veggies because I know if they’re ready to eat, I’m much more likely to grab them as the healthy choice instead of chips. Dinners get planned and cooked because not only is eating out expensive, the calorie counts in most out-of-the-house dinners are outrageous (even the same dishes cooked at home come in at far fewer calories).

So, today is going to be all about the food, which is really nothing new for me, I suppose. I’ll be roasting chili-lime almonds, processing fruit and veggies for quick grab-and-go snacks, and roasting a chicken which will be served with roasted Brussel sprouts and curried quinoa before being turned into (if I do say so myself) delicious chicken noodle soup. I’ll be doing it while drinking a glass of wine, of course, because food should be fun (and making good decisions 80-90% of the time means I can indulge rampantly sometimes, too)!

On the Menu

DINNERS

Saturday: Roasted chicken and Brussel sprouts with curried quinoa. The quinoa will have roasted red peppers and golden raisins, as well. The chicken will have most of the meat removed for sandwiches and leftover lunches, and the carcass will be turned into…

Sunday: Chicken Noodle Soup. I’ll be using the poultry stock I made over the holidays from the Turducken, along with stock made from Saturday’s roast chicken, as the base. It’s cold outside, and this soup is deliciously warming and hearty.

Monday: Leftovers. Time to clean out the refrigerator.

Tuesday: Parmesan Crusted swai with avocado and a vegetable. I’m not making a lot of food that creates leftovers because we’ve got some frozen lunches/dinners we need to use up out of the freezer.

Wednesday: Smokey shrimp over cheesy grits. This is one of those indulgence meals, because there’s not a whole lot that is healthy about the grits; but, man it’s good!

Thursday: Joe’s Mom’s Lasagna, with salad and crusty garlic bread. Okay, two indulgent meals in one week, I know. But, we need some space in the freezer, and this lasagna is fantastic. It’s not Joe’s mom’s recipe (well, it’s that, too), it’s a full lasagna she made for us over the holidays. This means extra workouts for me, and small portions, but it’s totally worth it. And, I’ll eat a green, leafy salad before tucking into the lasagna to help me not over-indulge in one sitting. Also, my calories will be fairly low on the other days of the week, and my body does really well with more of an intermittent feast-or-famine kind of thing (actually, science is showing most people do well with that type of diet, rather than the exact same calories each day). So, I am not going to sweat it too much.

What’s for dinner at your place?

Leave a Reply

