On the Menu, Feb 4th thru…

I’ve really needed to start this again for awhile, but things just seem to get in the way. Let’s see if it sticks this time!

ON THE MENU

Dinners

Tuesday: Thai Coconut Curry tempeh and vegetables over brown basmati rice.  This is one of my favorite crock-pot meals. A bit of heat, a lot of flavors, and super easy.

Wednesday: Orange teriyaki salmon, with butternut-squash oil roasted Brussel sprouts and garlic potatoes. I like to think of this as a fusion meal. The butternut squash seed oil is from a little store in St. Joe, MI. It’s made with Michigan-grown squash, and it’s absolutely delicious. I’ll be roasting the sprouts with olive oil and balsamic vinegar first, then tossing them with a bit of the squash oil as finish.

Thursday: Shrimp Diavolo over New’dles. S This is a spicy dish, and I’m making it a good bit healthier by serving it over ribbons of yellow squash, zucchini, and parsnips. 

Friday: Black bean salsa chicken lettuce wraps. This is another slow cooker recipe. Generally, you make the filling and then eat it in tortillas, but I’m doing it in Boston lettuce instead.

Saturday: leftovers.

Sunday: East Indian Chickpea Stew. Yep, I cook this a lot. I can’t help it, it’s frickin’ delicious.

Monday:  Mediterranean salmon and zucchini cakes, with whipped cauliflower and orange maple tahini kale salad. A light meal, but incredibly satisfying and filling. I love the array of veggies in this meal, and the depth of the various flavors.

Tuesday: Doro Wat Stew. I love Ethiopian food ,and this is a great way to make a little at home without having to go all-out.

Lunches: leftovers (of course), Zero-noodles with pesto, various Vietnamese-style rice wraps full of veggies and fruits, cheese, boiled eggs.

The other thing I’m finally getting back to is putting things in the freezer to eat later, when I don’t have time to cook. Currently waiting for me are: venison 3-bean chili, Italian white bean & kale soup, venison steak & mushrooms over spaghetti squash, and chicken makhani. Freezing meals really helps me save money by cutting  down on food waste, as well as quelling the temptation to eat out on days when cooking isn’t going to happen.

It feels great to be cooking this way again!

Leave a Reply

