On the Menu: Nov. 12th-16th

This image has nothing to do with this post, I just really want Moroccan Lentil Soup but don’t have time to whip up a batch. Maybe next week…

Monday: Roasted Goat over millet, with baked acorn squash. We have a local goat farmer from whom we buy much of our goat cheese, and he also (unsurprisingly) sells goat meat. I’ve never tried cooking goat meat before, so I looked up a crock pot recipe that seemed simple and straight-forward. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Tuesday:  Beef and pinto burritos. Thadd wanted something that gives a lot of leftovers.

Wednesday:  Cannelini Baked Pasta. I know, it’s shocking to see pasta on our menu. We rarely eat it, especially as a planned meal. Why is it on here now? Honestly, because we were tired of thinking. Neither of us have any time the first three days of this week to do much cooking, and we need to keep an eye on our budget.

Thursday:  Catfish with vegetables and quinoa.

Friday: Leftovers.

2 responses to “On the Menu: Nov. 12th-16th

  • Stacie

    I’ve never had goat, but my husband has had it several times when he was deployed to the mid East. He likes it, and I’d be willing to cook it for him if I ever found someone who sells goat meat. But I am allergic to lamb, and I just wonder if the two animals are similar enough that I’d be allergic to goat as well? What do you think?
    Please post back about your recipe, I’d love to hear how it turns out!
    (PS. Just a bit of trivia: more people per capita worldwide drink goat milk and eat goat meat than drink cow milk or eat beef.)

    • Shawn

      Stacie,

      It depends on why you’re allergic to lamb. I am allergic to it, as well, because of the lanolin. I can eat it raw, though–just not cooked at all (cooking changes the structure of the lanolin). I also can’t wear wool without breaking out. If you’re allergic to lanolin, you should be able to eat goat; but, if you’re allergic to a specific protein, it’s harder to determine without just giving it a try.

      Love the trivia!

Leave a Reply

