What I Eat–And Why, Feb. 20th

Today I’m going to do what I eat, as well as the “why” behind my decision to eat it. Everything we eat is a decision. Sometimes, I eat something just because it’s yummy and I love food, sometimes I eat it because I need something specific nutritionally, sometimes I choose not to eat something because I know it’s not great for me. Choices are important, and we make food choices all day every day.

Breakfast:

Farm fresh eggs with sautee’d kale, cherry tomatoes, green pepper, and nutritional yeast. WHY: I am still staying away from grains for breakfast except on weekends with Thadd, so eggs are a good choice. Mine are farm-fresh and pastured, so they have about a third less cholesterol and a quarter less saturated fat than store-bought, as well as a lot more Vitamin D, E, Omega fatty acids, and beta carotene. Eggs are also one of the most bio-available proteins, so are a good way to start the morning. The veggies add fiber, flavor, and a lot of other phytonutrients, as well. The nutritional yeast is for flavor and b vitamins.

Snacks: banana. Almond milk-banana-peanut butter shake.

Lunch:

(Excuse the bad picture, I was having camera issues.) Raw milk kefir.  Homemade ciabatta, turkey, and organic greens sandwich. Carrot and celery sticks.  The kefir is full of pro-biotics from the fermentation, as well as vitamin D, CLA, Omegas, and all the other great things from pastured milk. Thadd made homemade ciabatta last night, and I couldn’t just let it set there. It’s so yummy, with no preservatives; but, it’s still simple carbs. So, I made the decision to eat a half a bun instead of a whole one, filling it with low-preservative turkey and organic greens. The celery and carrots provided more fiber.

Dinner: Sauerkraut, smoked sausage, roasted potatoes. This is a late night for both Thadd and me, with both of us unable to eat dinner until almost 9PM, so it’s got to be something fast. We don’t use a ton of sausage in this, just enough for flavor. This batch of sauerkraut isn’t homemade, unfortunately. I need to make some more.

Leave a Reply

