Your Soapbox is Falling Apart

This is a mini-rant, so if you’re not in the mood for some quick crankiness, you’ll want to move along. Here goes.

I don’t care if you’re vegan. I don’t care if you’re paleo. I don’t care if your macrobiotic what-the-heck-ever.  If it works for you, great. If it doesn’t, do some research and change it up. But, before you preach to me about how my whatever-it-is harms the environment, is going to give me cancer, or will make me fat, realize that:

1. I am already doing what works for me, and I am not interested in drinking your Kool-aid. I am fit, I am healthy, and I’ve done the research on environmental and health factors. Just because I eat differently than you does not make me an idiot, illiterate, or misguided.

and

2. If you’re eating a bunch of processed crap and fake “foods,” or scarfing down factory-farmed meats, or spending your entire life savings on a “miracle” food, you’re arguments are falling on deaf ears if you’re talking to me.

And, if you’re derailing an otherwise productive conversation about health and food with insults, jibes, or  constant references to crappy science please take a moment and step off your soapbox long enough to realize that most people involved in those conversations usually have some clue what they’re talking about. You are not unique, you are not likely presenting anything we haven’t already heard, and you are not so online-charismatic that you’re going to make converts by being combative.

How about having a real conversation, where you listen as well as talk? There are lots of viewpoints, and I am ready to appreciate yours if you’re reasonable, informed, and actually interested in a respectful discussion.

2 responses to “Your Soapbox is Falling Apart

Leave a Reply

