10 Minute Meatless. It’s Not Just For Mondays Anymore.

There’s a big “Meatless Mondays” movement, and while I’m not going to go into the pros, cons, and politics of that, I will say that I am not sure why it’s only Mondays. Meat is expensive, both financially and environmentally, and eating slabs of it every night is generally not a recipe for responsible living. I’m obviously not saying don’t eat meat. We do. I am saying (again) eat less of it. Even if you’re paleo, that doesn’t mean you’ve gotta have a Porterhouse every night.  And, if you’re like many Americans these days, you couldn’t afford it anyway.

One of the ways we love to eat meatless, or even to stretch a small bit of leftover meat, is a crust-less quiche, more fancifully known as a frittata.

The bonus about this recipe, aside from being filling, inexpensive, healthy, and frugal, is that it’s a great way to use up those bits and bobs of veggies you’ve got leftover. Since our meal plans start on Mondays, we usually have leftovers on Friday or Saturday, sometimes Sunday. If we eat meatless on Monday, it’s a coincidence, but since we eat meatless a lot, I don’t feel too bad about it.

I don’t have a picture of this frittata after it came out of the oven because it rained and got really dark in the kitchen (and my flash makes food look icky). In fact, I don’t have any decent pictures of any frittatas for one reason or another. But trust me, they’re delicious!

10 responses to “10 Minute Meatless. It’s Not Just For Mondays Anymore.

  • livinglearningeating

    I just had a very tasty vegetarian lunch with yummy vegetarian sausage ( http://livinglearningeating.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/wunder-wuerstchen/ ). Then again, I have a yummy vegetarian lunch everyday, since I’m a vegetarian! 😛

    • shwankie

      I was a vegetarian for about 6 years, but it was way before any of the faux-meat stuff came out! Glad you enjoyed your lunch (we don’t eat any processed foods and really limited, local-only soy because it can interfere with my adrenal medications; so, I have no idea what these actually taste like).

  • Stacie

    We LOVE frittatas, for any meal of the day. We are especially fond of making them with peppers, tomatoes, spinach, and a bit of cheddar cheese. I garnish the top with green onions and tomatoes.

    On a snarky side note–did you notice your “Red Robin, The People’s Burger” ad? Too funny!

    • shwankie

      Your frittata sounds fabulous! Now I am hungry all over again.

      Where’s the Red Robin ad? I can’t see it on my version (and oh, how annoying is that!!?).

  • Stacie

    Well, it used to be at the end of the blog text, right above the comment section. It’s gone now! I just thought it was kind of funny, in my crazy, irony-loving warped mind.

    • shwankie

      Hm. I am not really okay with random adds. I didn’t realize they were there–going to look into that! But yes, there is an irony there!

  • BargainBinge

    Hi Super Shawn. Great new posts and pictures, love the tomatoes, menu planning and recipe ideas. Okay so I love the concept of theme nights, Meatless Monday is catchy i nname and that’s why I like it but I do feel and agree it’s not about meatless Monday and should be about eating for health any day of the week which should include meatless dishes for the meat eaters… need to switch it up a bit as too much meat is never a good thing. I like to provide a variety of options so it’s take your pick style eating. Smile. Anyhow, you got rain lately? How beautiful. It’s hot here in CA. The weather has been real tricky this year and not the best for my garden either but making do. I have only been able to get about 1/4th from all that I planted… so not so much. Rats to that! Anyhow, love friattas – I especially love a good sauteed mushroom, asparagus and chard one with sweet carmelized onion! I am big on quiche too, it’s one of my favorite foods. What’s your favorite kind of quiche? Ps. still working on that Numbian goat cheese you recommended. I’ve been doing my HW on goat cheese in general and will be making sure whatever I get is local.

  • shwankie

    Your asparagus, mushroom, and caramelized onion quiche sounds so yummy!

    I think Meatless Monday is an interesting idea, and probably a good way to get people who are used to eating lots of meat started on cooking vegetarian, but for us (and, it sounds like you), it’s just not the best day to do it all the time. We often cook whatever meat we’ll b eating for the week on Sundays or Mondays as a batch to save on energy and time throughout the week. Plus, as you said, we eat a lot of meatless meals. So, I get the concept, but hopefully people use it more as a starting point and not an end point!

  • I wonder what Mark Zukerberg is up to this Meatless Monday? | breathelighter

    […] 10 Minute Meatless. It’s Not Just For Mondays Anymore. (eclecticedibles.wordpress.com) […]

  • Meatless Mondays « The Epigenetics Project Blog

    […] 10 Minute Meatless. It’s Not Just For Mondays Anymore. (eclecticedibles.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

