Preserving Summer: Time to Get Started

Aren’t these gorgeous? I am going to flatter myself and say they are, because little is so lovely to me as the site of something tasty that I’ll get to eat later, in the colder months, that will make me remember summer. In this case, it’s pickled garlicscapes. These are only available for a few weeks each year, and we love them. They’re amazing in salads, casseroles, with fish or chicken…really, anywhere you’d use garlic, but would like a milder taste. This is my first shot at pickling them, and I used a basic recipe for green beans, but changed out the spices. There’s no dill here. Instead I did a brine and then added spring onions, fresh garden basil, and peppercorns to the jar. I’ll let you know how they turn out. I’m dehydrating the green, “floppier” bits of the onions and scapes to use as spices later, too!

Tomorrow, I’ll be doing either fermented carrots or canned hot-and-sweet carrots, I haven’t decided yet. Our greens are coming in fast, and I’m going to can some mustard greens hopefully next week.  Are you preserving yet?

Leave a Reply

