An Old Towne Time, and On the Menu

This week will be the first meeting of my neighborhood’s cooking and nutrition class. It’s just an informational type meeting, to introduce myself, see what folks are interested in learning, and go over some basics; but, I am really looking forward to it. A healthy community is a safer, more successful community, and it bleeds out into a healthier society. Which the US desperately needs right now. I’ll let you know how it goes.

In other news, our greens and radishes came in hard and heavy from the greenhouse these last few weeks. so we’ve been enjoying a salad with almost every meal. I love sorrel–if you hadn’t, go find some. It’s worth the search. This ties into the On the Menu segment because you can just assume we at a fresh, crispy salad with every one.

On the Menu

Dinners

Sunday: Jambalaya with cornbread. I wanted to try out a new recipe before I gave it to my clients. I have a perfectly good jambalaya recipe, but this one had a few advantages. It was fabulous. Jambalaya is a great way to stretch seafood, sausage, and/or chicken. I left out the chicken in this case, and it still made a huge amount.

Monday: Stuffed garden stand cannelloni. This tried-and-true recipe is from one of my favorite organic cookbooks. My clients were going to get it this week, and I was going to have a pile of leftover lasagna noodles, so I made a batch for us.

Tuesday: Catfish with couscous and roasted cauliflower. Thadd’s night to cook, and since he’s at the end of his semester, it’s got to be fast. We like catfish, his go-to side is couscous, and roasted cauliflower is a favorite in this house. It works just as well frozen as it does fresh.

Wednesday: Cannellini au Gratin with roasted olives and grapes. I know, it sounds weird. But, it’s a rich mix that even meat lovers seem to fall in love with. The roasted grapes and olive idea wigged even me out when I first ran across it, but it works incredibly well.

Thursday: Grilled flank steak with charred sweet potatoes. We owe the charred sweet potato idea to our friends Dave and MJ, who introduced us to them last year. They’re so creamy and sweet. The grilled flank steak will be marinaded with…well, whatever I throw in. I tend to whip a lot of my marinades up on the fly.

Friday: Thai peanut noodles with tofu. Thadd’s been bothering me about having this dish again, and since we have a plethora of Twin Oak’s tofu in the freezer, I figured I’d go ahead. It’s really easy to make, but I can’t stand crappy tofu; so, it only gets made when I’ve got a supply of the “good stuff.” Which is, incidentally, cheaper than the crappy stuff.

Lunches are, of course, leftovers mostly. We plan it that way. Breakfasts this week will be a variety of: scrambled eggs w/greens & veggies, toast, Greek Yogurt, granola, strawberries, oatmeal.

3 responses to “An Old Towne Time, and On the Menu

Leave a Reply

