A Fail and a Win

So, the fail is that I didn’t post a “Monday Healthy Eating blog” as I’d promised. This week is nuts for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is playing catch-up from the week I took off between Christmas and New Year’s. It’s pretty difficult to find a convenient time to take a week off in my business, but the week between two holidays is almost always good timing for the majority of my clients; so, I make the most of it. Anyway, the point is that I was so busy catching up that I apparently fell behind.

The win is I had a spectacular time over my break, and you’ll see some of it coming up in the form of wine pairings using local vintages. So, there’s that to look forward to.

But, to remedy my fail from Monday, here’s some more catch-up:

Healthy Eating Tip of the Week: Vegetables. Eat them. I know this seems like a no-brainer, but I wanted to reiterate it here because so many people tell me “I don’t like vegetables,” or “my kids don’t like vegetables.” And I wanted to say, to quote a friend “Suck it up, buttercup.” You need those veggies, and so do your kids.  They have fiber, they have antioxidants, they have vitamins and minerals you need to stay healthy.  Find good ways to prepare a variety of colorful veggies, and you’ll be healthier all around, from the tip of your not-running nose to the bottom of your strong-boned toes.

And, that’s the catch. You need to find good ways to prepare vegetables. Mushy and gray is not a recipe for yummy. So, here’s a few ideas to help you start this year off with veggies:

-Roasting is your friend. You can roast almost any vegetable and it gets better. Many of my clients, kids included, thought they hated broccoli until they had it tossed in olive oil and roasted. Carrots coated in some balsamic vinegar and roasted caramelize into these wonderful orange nuggets of fabulousness.  Even many kids like beets that have had a bit of salt, pepper, EVOO, and garlic tossed into a roaster for 45 minutes or so. And, roasting helps preserve many of the lost in steaming or boiling.

-Do not overcook your vegetables. Al dente, trust me.

-Flash fry your green beans in a dry pan, adding a coating of garlic powder and a touch of salt a minute or two before they’re done. The garlic powder will sear, and give the beans a smoky garlic flavor that goes really well with everything from Chinese to Pot Roast.

Kabob. Kids love kabobs. They’re a really fun way to do vegetables. Just cut into 1 inch chunks, toss with (you guessed it) some olive oil, skewer and grill, bake, or broil. You can add some spices or a marinade if you want. Serve over rice.

-Use your peeler to make zucchini and squash into noodles, and use like spaghetti. Or, roast up a spaghetti squash and use the meat instead of pasta (this is great with pesto or red sauce, but also with richer dishes like stroganoff).

Those are just a few ideas. Get creative! It’ll not only keep you healthier, but also help trim your budget, since veggie are typically cheaper than meats.

Leave a Reply

