New Reading about Food, Food Politics, and Obesity

Among other things, I spend a lot of time reading political food blogs.  Why? Well, there’s a lot reasons. Some inspire me to keep fighting for healthier food, some have great research access, some are on “the other side” so I know what I’m fighting, and some are just plain entertaining. Food is a passion for me,  and so are the things connected with it–those peripheral things like preservation, health, nutrition, security, justice, logistics…the list goes on.

The truth is, almost everything in our lives is somehow connected by or with food. Knowing what is going on around you is empowering, and often flat-out scary.  One company owns most of the seed for the grains we eat, for example. Does that really sound like a good idea to anyone but them and the politicians they fund? Because almost any rational person who spends a few minutes thinking about it can see how incredibly dangerous that is, how terrifying to have one for-profit entity controlling food supply worldwide.

So, I read a lot. I educate myself to educate others, and I love finding people who have similar passions. I’ve been trying to catch up on archives of Appetite for Profit, run by a public health lawyer. It’s fascinating, well-written, and while I don’t agree with everything, she presents good and reasonable arguments for her POV.  Swing by and read a bit, then let me know what you think.

I also read a lot of books. You know, those things with the paper in the middle of two bits of cardboard? The paper usually has words on it? Yes, you can also get “books” on kindle, but for me, it’s just not the same thing. That, however, is neither here no there. The point is I read things not blogs or twitter, and my latest  read is from an author we saw speak at Monticello Heritage Harvest Festival, Sharon Astyk. She also, of course, also have a blog (which I’ve just started diving into, so no review yet).  The book is “Independence Days: A Guide to Sustainable Food Storage & Preservation.”  I’m only about half way through, but I’m already comfortable recommending it. She’s got some great insights, some good recipes, and she gives you a lot to think about.

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

