Shrimp Enchilada Bake? No. Shrimp Tortilla Bake!

I promised you a review and recipe for this, and here it is!  I got the idea from this months’ SELF magazine, but I tweaked it for a variety of reasons. Note: The pictures are kind of awful, since the light in the house wasn’t great and my tripod is in my car.

Ingredients:

Above: garlic & lime marinaded shrimp. Below: Chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (the leftover peppers were frozen for later use, which is what you’re seeing here).

Above: sweating onions and garlic. Below: Multi-color diced peppers.

Below:  Diced fresh broccoli.

Recipe:

Sauce

14 oz. crushed or diced tomatoes. From our garden.

1 medium onion, diced

3-5 cloves garlic, mashed and diced. From Roundabout Farms.

3-5 chipotle peppers, diced fin

Filling:

1/2 lb. shrimp, peeled, deveined, and roughly chopped, marinaded in lime juice, zest, and chopped 2 chopped garlic cloves. I got these at aldi for $3.99/lb, making this a really frugal meal.

1 c. or so broccoli, diced

1 c. or so peppers, diced (use whatever color you like). These are from our garden.

1 pkg. corn tortillas

1 c. or so of cheese of your choice

Put it together: Sweat onions and garlic in a small amount of EVOO.  Combine all ingredients, and blend (I used a stick blener) until mostly smooth. I like chunks, so I left a few. Set aside. Sautee’ broccoli and peppers together in a bit of EVOO.

Cover bottom of  pan of appropriate size (I used a 10 inch, deep pan, but I also doubled the recipe) with a thin layer of sauce. Dip both sides of corn tortillas into sauce (I did this in a separate bowl), and arrange to cover bottom of pan. Cut to fit if necessary:

Cover with shrimp, and a layer of cheese:

Dip more tortillas and cover shrimp and cheese layer. Spread broccoli and pepper mixture on top. Cover with a light layer of cheese of your choice (I used cheddar this time). Cover with another layer of sauce-dipped tortillas, cover with remaining sauce, and top with light layer of cheese (pic only shows top layer of tortillas):

Cover with lid or foil, and bake at 3750 for 30 minutes. Uncover, and bake an additional 10 minutes. Serve:

UC was really dubious about shrimp in an enchilada bake. Generally, he loves enchiladas and related foods, but the shrimp thew him.  He loved it. It was different, and delicious. It was also totally unlike anything you’d call an enchilada, so I’ve renamed it! Saying it’s an “enchilada bake” is pretty misleading, in terms of flavor.

Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

