Chestnut Bourbon Butter

Last fall, I stocked up on chestnuts when they were in season. Hours of roasting and shucking later, I was left with something like 10 lbs. Aside from the holidays when I make Chestnut stuffing, I haven’t used them since. This is tragic, and I’ve made a promise to myself to start finding uses for them. There’ll be a soup next week, but yesterday I decided to at least get a start by making a nut butter.

I realize it doesn’t look like mcuh, but it is all that and a bag of chips, without the trans fat. I added some bourbon (because we are sans brandy at the moment)  to deepen the flavor, a bit of Tahitian Vanilla Powder, and then reduced it in the crock pot for several hours. I can’t wait to put this on the banana bread we’re making tonight!

Leave a Reply

