Thanksgiving, An Overview

I love Thanksgiving. As I’ve mentioned before, food is my way of showing people I like them, and so Thanksgiving is like Woodstock for me. This year we’re sharing Thanksgiving with friends, including Dave and Mindy who are hosting. We both miss our families, of course, but we’re looking forward to the day immensely.

I thought I’d share out menu, and some thoughts on it, while I wait for the stuffing to heat up so I can put more butter on it, and UC waits for his sourdough to complete it’s final rise.

Thanksgiving Meal

Appetizers

Homemade Crackers with dips. Dave made crackers, which turned out great. We’ll be having them with edamame dip and spicy tapenade. They can also be used for:

Cranberry Dipping Sauce. This is one of Mindy’s favorites, and I can’t wait to try it. She likes it with her turkey, because she’s just not a gravy person.

Cheese. A few different types, including my current favorite, Apple Smoked Paprika Rubbed Cheddar.

Kathy’s Special Croissant. My friend Kathy introduced me to this easy appetizer. It’s croissant dough mashed out onto a jelly roll pan, then covered with brie, which is in turn covered with apricot preserves. It’s all baked up into one gooey, fantastic, one-dish appetizer!

Dinner

Brined Roasted Turkey. Dave and Mindy will be doing the turkey this year, which I admit is a bit odd for me. I’m not really used to sharing the Thanksgiving cooking. That said, it’s kind of nice not having to do it all myself, and the turkey sounds like it’s going to be delicious! I’ll be making the pan gravy.

Canned Cranberry Sauce, with the rings. Sorry, gotta have it. It’s not gourmet, but that doesn’t mean it’s not good. It’s also a bit of nostalgia that reminds all of us of our childhood Thanksgivings.

Roasted Cranberries. I tried this recipe for the first time, and it’s great (detailed below). It’s even better on day 2.

Chestnut and Fig Stuffing. This is my buttermilk cornbread stuffing, studded with figs, chestnuts, tart and sweet apples, dried cranberries, orange and lemon zests, Sauvingnon Blanc, homemade veggie stock, and more butter than I’ll detail here. Yummy.

Cornbread Pudding. Mindy isn’t really a dressing person, so she’s discovered this cornbread pudding. I’ve never had it, but it sounds terrific!

Garlic & Nutmeg Green Beans. This is a zingy side dish that adds some interest to green beans. Not to say I don’t love green beans plain (and sometimes raw!), but it’s fun to do something else with them, too.

Bussel Spouts with Onions and Pancetta. Pancetta and onions help warm up the flavor or the sprouts, as does a short simmer in some stock. One of my favorite ways to eat brussel spouts.

Curried Sweet Potatoes. These not-sweet-sweet-potatoes are rich and creamy, with the kick of garham masala, tumeric, and cumin. For some added texture, they’re topped with granola.

Whipped potatoes. UC will be using redskin potatoes (skin on), heavy cream, butter, and some other things he’s not revealing to make his signature potatoes. They’re creamy, light, and rich. Perfect even without gravy.

Homemade Breads. UC is whipping up some sourdough, which he’s definitely perfected, and some NY style onion rolls to go with dinner. We’ll see if either of them makes it that long–I am craving both this morning.

Desserts

Pumpkin pie. Mindy apparently makes amazing pumpkin pie, even though she doesn’t care for pumpkin herself. She’s using apple liquor in the crust!

Chocolate Rum Cake. With, we’re told, 2 full cups of rum! Mindy is a dessert-making kind of lady, and she’s pulling out all the stops for this dinner.

Cranberry Cornmeal Cake. Served warm. Another Mindy dish that I can’t wait to try.

Pumpkin Cheese Cake. Peg, from The Frenchman’s, brought us a whole pumpkin cheesecake last night! I got to preview it, and it’d delightful: rich, light, creamy…decadent is the only real word for it.

I have no idea where I am going to put all these desserts, but I am sure I’ll find corners of my stomach I didn’t know existed.

Have a wonderful holiday, everyone.

One response to “Thanksgiving, An Overview

  • Jen

    Chocolate RUM cake, you say! That sounds awesome.

    But, how is it supposed to be a whole cake when it clearly only has a single serving of rum….?

Leave a Reply

