No Cohesion

It will come as no surprise to my readers that I love to make my own weird food and beverages, and that I occasionally want strange things to cook in. What I am really saying is I’ve had some random things on my “wish list” for a while, and have no good way to hook them into a cohesive post. They’re still worth mentioning, but I don’t want to dedicate a whole post to any one of them.

And, I’m busy right now. We had to essentially move our entire kitchen out of our apartment for a day, and now we’re trying to put it all back together while cleaning every surface and dish. I’ve also been busy working on the Meals To Go project. More on that as soon as i can, but for now, it’s hush-hush. Just know that I am not sitting around on my bum doing nothing.

So, what things do I want to the point of obsession?

Keft D’uca crystals. I made kefir for a while, and it was alright; but, this looks amazing and I think we’d drink more of it. Unfortunately, they’re out right now.

Fil Mjolk Dairy Starter Culture (sorry, can’t do the umlat). I’ve heard some rave reviews about this, and given how much I tend to like things in this vein, I think it would be an amazing addition to the household.

Kombucha Mushroom Starter Kit. I had kombucha a while ago and liked it, but it’s almost $5/bottle for 12 oz. This would pay for itself in two batches.

Hamilton Beach 3-in-1 slow cooker. I like this one because it has the different inserts, and that would allow me to make so many things I can’t do with just my 4-quart. I could make a lot less steel cut oats, for example, with the 2-quart insert. Or, a whole chicken with the 6 quart.

Leave a Reply

