We All Scream

It’s summer, it’s hot, and I am training pretty hard. I am also eating way too much ice cream.

Those of you who know me at all know I am kind of a sucker for sweets, and in the summer ice cream is one of the few things I actually want to eat. Unfortunately, it’s not terribly good for me. Sugar, in general, can be a problem in my life. I have a sweet tooth that is hard to stop, and it occasionally gets out of hand. Time to stop the madness.

I’ve cut out all processed sugars and as much white starch as possible, and will do so for the next few weeks to detox my body and stop the cravings. I’ve done this before, and it’s magic…if I can make it through the first few days. I eat all the fruit, veggies, and whole grains I want, and I also eat appropriate portions of meat. I will allow myself some agave-sweetened drinks, but few and with little of the sweetener.

All around, I know this is a healthier way of eating; but, when it’s this hot and I am burning as many as 1200 calories a day training, I have a hard time saying no to cool and sweet.

The first step to saying no is to provide myself with as many other things as I can that are quick, cool, and easy that I will eat.

I made hummus today, sliced some cucumber, and toasted some whole wheat pita with onion and garlic powders in a bit of olive oil spray. It’s yummy, and UC will be thrilled when he gets home!

I forsee a lot of yogurt smoothies in my future, too. I plan on freezing those for 30 minutes of so and using them in place of ice cream.

Wish me luck. If I can make it though the weekend, I’ll be golden.

Leave a Reply

