Favorite Post-Workout Snack

It’s hotter than Hades here, and I often forget to eat, or just plain don’t want to, much of the time. This is common with me in hot weather, and something I’ve had to watch for years. The situation is exacerbated by the fact that I work out hard daily, and really need to make sure I am getting enough calories, protein, and nutrition.

So, I’ve been making a point of eating small snacks and at least trying some food during each meal. There are snacks I rely on, like yogurt and salads; but, changing it up is good, too. Today, I really wanted ants-on-a-log, but alas we’re out of celery. What we do have, though, are bananas! So:

Bananas, topped with organic (no-sugar) peanut butter, roasted walnuts, and raisins. Stuck in the freezer for about 10 minutes, and drank with glass of heavily-diluted sekanjabin. Great snack. Easy, cool, healthy, lots of vitamins and minerals. Perfect!

I’d love to hear your favorite post-workout snacks!

3 responses to “Favorite Post-Workout Snack

  • Favorite Post-Workout Snack

    […] Big Brother 08 wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptStuck in the freezer for about 10 minutes, and drank with glass of heavily-diluted sekanjabin. Great snack. Easy, cool, healthy, lots of vitamins and minerals. Perfect! I’d love to hear your favorite post-workout snacks! […]

  • DrKristen

    That’s a great idea! I myself am a smoothie person. I’ll whip up a quick smoothie with whatever fresh or frozen berries I have on hand, some fresh almond milk or hemp milk, and sometimes a little hemp or whey protein if I’m ravenous. The milks provide an excellent source of protein and omega-3s, and the fruit some good carbs, vitamins and minerals. On those days where the thought of eating after a workout just doesn’t feel good, I at least put a little squeeze of lemon and a pinch of good-quality sea salt in my water so I can replace those electrolytes. Great blog!

  • diet plan

    OHH Some very interesting and insightful thoughts. I like this.

Leave a Reply

