Upside Down Update

Some of you may remember the upside-down planter experiment (if not, you can read it here), and I thought I’d give you an update. I know there are some other folks trying out similar things, so hopefully we can all find out what works best.

So far:

I think they’re doing really well! And the smell is heavenly. I am not sure if it’s because they are in this type of planter (there are two plants here), because they’re being grown organically, or for some other reason, but these are the most fragrant vines I’ve ever grown. The smell of tomato wafts through our porch windows occasionally.

Tomatoes, of course, are not the only thing growing in my planters:

Lovely, peppery nasturtiums. This is the first one, today there are two more, and by tomorrow we’ll have enough for salad. I am hoping to use these for my clients, as well.

The baskets are beautiful, fragrant, and something I am likely to carry on even when I move to a place with space for gardening.

4 responses to “Upside Down Update

  • coffeepot

    What a great idea! I have some tomato plants and planters similar. I might try it if hubby will accept the idea. He may be more prone to want them in the garden however.

    They look great!

  • shwankie

    Thanks! If you give it a whirl, let me know how it goes! Would he go for doing some cherry tomatoes in the pots and other tomatoes in your garden? Something like “it’s the best use of space & water to do top and bottom of the pot planting?”

  • coffeepot

    shwankie I will let you know. It is certainly a space saver idea and looks great too.

  • Independence Days Update «

    […] 4. Prep something- I got information on growing upside down tomatoes which I am going to try. You can see what a great idea by going to Eclectic Edibles […]

Leave a Reply

