Upside Down Tomatoes

With limited space and limited outside sun, I wasn’t sure I’d ever be able to grow my own tomatoes in this apartment. Then I remembered the upside down planters I’d seen, and thought: “Viola! This is a way I can maximize my space and sun!” Alas, it was not to be. None of the nurseries around me carried the planters, and online they were just too expensive (starting at $70 and going rapidly up from there).

So, UC and I made our own.

Easy enough. Cut a small hole in the bottom of the coconut pad lining the pot, and thread the tomato plant through. Fill with dirt, plant stuff on top, and hang. Total cost of planters (not including plants): $15.00 each. I opted for organic plants, dirt, and food; but, you can do it with whatever you like. Water frequently.

The tomatoes are growing rapidly; and, while they’re not in full sun, they do get plenty to give me a nice crop. We have two of these planters, each with a tomato plant and a different selection on top. This basket has basil and parsley, the other has nasturtiums and tarragon.

(cross-posted to CHHLPL)

5 responses to “Upside Down Tomatoes

  • gsdesertrose

    I never thought of using hanging baskets for upside down tomatoes. I think I’ll try planting some cherry tomatoes in the six I have in my garden. What a great idea! Thanks so much.

    If you get a chance, stop by my new gardening blog, Garden Beautiful, at http://gardenbeautiful.wordpress.com/

  • Planting Upside Down Tomatoes « Garden Beautiful

    […] Yesterday, I read a post on a cooking blog that was about planting upside down tomatoes. The blog’s author planted his upside down tomatoes in a hanging basket. He simply cut holes in the coconut matting and planted the tomato seedlings on the basket’s underneath side. He then planted herbs in the top of the basket. I have six hanging baskets of the same sort in my garden and I think I’m going to give his idea a try. He has pictures of the baskets on his blog, Eclectic Edibles, which you can check out by clicking here. […]

  • Unoffended

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Unoffended!

  • justfoodnow

    Its a super idea and I will certainly try them this summer. Please tell me what they are made off – I just may not be able to get them in this part of the world, but there will certainly be someone to make it. Thanks for a terrific blog – seems like you haven’t been writing for a while, though – too much cheffing?

  • shwankie

    Thanks for the comment, and I am glad you are enjoying the blog! The liners are coconut mats, made from coconut fibers. You can also do something similar with any plastic hanging basket, or even a bucket with a hole cut in it and hung on wire.

    Good luck with it, and let me know how it goes. Rest easy, and get well soon!

Leave a Reply

