Earth-Oven Roasted Garlic

Undercomplicated built an earth oven last summer, and the bread that comes from it is AMAZING.  He’s the baker, I’m the cook. That’s just the way life goes, and for a while I was a bit jealous of the earth oven. After all, he had such a cool thing for making bread, and I was stuck with a stove.

And then we realized we had clay post small enough to fit through the over door.

So, other amazing things come out of the earth oven now, including this slow-roasted garlic. Drizzled with olive oil and baked 20 heads at a time for about 2 hours, it’s nutty perfection. I am going to miss this oven.

roasted garlic

3 responses to “Earth-Oven Roasted Garlic

  • Simon

    Hi

    I have recently built my own clay oven in my back garden and thought some of you might be interested in the blog I have put together about it. It includes very detailed instructions on how to make your own.

    http://clayoven.wordpress.com

    Thanks

    Simon

  • shwankie

    Simon,

    Thanks for the link, I look forward to reading your blog. You may want to post this to UC’s blog (www.undercomplicated.wordpress.com), since he’s the one who does the research, construction, etc. (I just like to cook in it!). We’re in an apartment since our move, but he’s helping some friends construct theirs; so, definitely cross post this if you get some time.

Leave a Reply

