3-Cheese & Pesto Stuffed Squash Blossoms, Fried

Undercomplicated is making most of dinner tonight, but he got me a present while I was gone for the weekend: squash blossoms. He preserved them in ice water, and tonight I am doing them up as a side for dinner. I love these flowers–they are the epitome of summer for me. Bright yellow and tasty, just asking to be stuffed with all manner of things.

Squash blossoms floating

I kept the blossoms in the water until the very last minute, making them easier to stuff. I mixed up a couple tablespoons of cream cheese, some shredded cheddar and mozzarella, pesto, sea salt, fresh ground pepper, and fresh parsley for the filling.

Blossom filling

I like to use my fingers to stuff the blossoms. There are a lot of ways of doing this, some of which preserve the blossom shape. Today, I didn’t take the time to dip the leaves individually, which means that they aren’t as pretty as they could be. I just filled the cup of the flower up to bulging, leaving the petals free, then dipped them into a light egg, flour, and milk batter.

filled blossoms

I let the excess batter run off, then fried them up in some EVOO until they were brown and crispy on the outside, goey and warm on the inside.

frying blossoms

Once golden all over, I removed the blossoms from the pan and drained on a towel. Amazingly, they actually lasted until dinner. I got two. Undercomplicated got the rest.

tasty blossoms!

One response to “3-Cheese & Pesto Stuffed Squash Blossoms, Fried

Leave a Reply

